Embracing the Magic of Siena

Siena, with its undulating hills and historic streets, has captured my heart in a way I never thought possible. When I first arrived here I never expected the time to fly as it has done. Although I still have one month left, I find myself struggling to deal with the bittersweet reality of my departure. My days here are fleeting, and although the thought of leaving scares me, it is also a reminder to continue living every moment to the fullest. Every venture outside becomes a reminder of the simple joys I will miss – the vibrant social scenes at the Piazza, the laughter of children playing, and the warmth of the Italian sun kissing my skin. I believe Siena is the most beautiful place on earth, and with that belief comes a desire to explore every nook and cranny, to live deeply within its culture, and to not let a single moment slip away unappreciated.

Most weekends I have spent exploring other cities in Italy and occasionally going out of the country. But the beauty I witness everyday when I walk to class in Siena is  a gentle reminder of the need to make a conscious effort to make the most of my experience here, not just on weekends, but always. Siena is a mosaic of experiences and opportunities, but it requires initiative to discover its true colors. It’s easy to remain within the familiar, yet true growth comes from engaging with the community and its traditions.

To truly immerse myself, I’ve taken to exploring Siena’s beauty on runs. Exploring fitness and Siena at the same time has taught me a lot about myself and given me time to be alone. I have also become an avid journaler – I look forward to unwinding each evening and reflecting on the day I’ve had. Every Wednesday there is a sprawling clothing market, and I love walking through the streets and haggling for clothes. I underestimated the pull of Italian markets and shops. I love getting souvenirs from each place I visit, and I know I will cherish these items forever. 

My time here hasn’t just been about embracing Italian culture; it’s been a profound educational experience too. CET has enriched my stay with unforgettable activities. From experiencing the Carnevale in Foiano to indulging in traditional Tuscan cooking classes, I’ve had the privilege of seeing Italy through an authentic lens. It’s not just about learning new dishes; it’s about connecting with the heart of Italian culture, through its cuisine and its festivals. 

When we visited the Carnevale in Foiano I had the pleasure of witnessing a small town celebrate Carnevale with a showcase of art, dance, and music. The four districts of the town competed in a parade. Seeing people of all ages dance and sing together truly reminded me of why I wanted to be in Italy in the first place. 

I also loved getting the opportunity to experience authentic Sienese cooking at the class CET organized for us. I learned how to make pici, ravioli, gnocchi, and cantucci. Afterwards, we all sat together and ate our homemade meal. I always thought that pasta was hard to make, but after this experience I’m excited to share these lessons with friends and family in the US.

The visit to a local high school’s computer science class was particularly illuminating. The teachers at the local high school are also our professors at CET. They planned an event where they introduced us to their high schoolers and we talked about our experiences with computer science. This was such a relevant exchange of culture, it truly showcased the depth of global innovation.

At the culmination of the carnevale festival in Foiano everyone threw bags of confetti around and celebrated. It reminded me of New Years in the US. 
the cooking class organized by CET was such a great bonding experience, and a chance to connect with all of the people in the program again. 
The sprawling tuscan hills I see on my runs are something out of a fairy tale. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started